Nursing: Skin and Wound Care: What You Need to Know

Select a State to view hours and price
About this Course

Learning Outcomes

  • Describe the normal anatomy and pathophysiology of the skin.
  • Compare and contrast various types of acute and chronic wounds. 
  • Identify each phase of wound healing. 
  • Identify factors that affect the normal healing process. 
  • Describe the nurse‚Äôs responsibility in assessing and documenting wounds.
  • Explain how wounds are diagnosed. 
  • Identify treatment modalities for various types of wounds. 
  • Identify nursing interventions used to prevent acute and chronic wounds. 
  • Discuss the legal implications for nurses caring for patients with wounds. 

About the Author
Stephani Hunt, MSN, RN, WCC, OMS, ONC

Stephani Hunt,  MSN, RN, WCC, OMS, ONC received her Masters in Nursing from Framingham State University and her Baccalaureate in Nursing degree from Northeastern University, Boston.  She is Wound Care Certified, an Ostomy Management Specialist, and is a Certified Orthopaedic Nurse.   Ms. Hunt is currently the Medical Surgical Clinical Nurse Educator at Elliot Health System, Manchester, NH. Where she provides wound care education, consultation, and standardization for nursing throughout the institution.   Prior to her current position, she was actively involved as a wound care specialist at New England Baptist Hospital, Boston.  In this position, she was an active member of the Wound Care Team and provided individualized consultation to patients with complex wounds. She also coordinated wound care orientation for new staff, developed the documentation criteria for the electronic health record, and provided standardization for wound care dressings throughout the institution.

Find Skin and Wound Care: What You Need to Know - N20091 in your state

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington DC
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming