Nursing: No Room for Error: Promoting Medication Safety

Select a State to view hours and price
About this Course

Learning objectives
Upon completion of this course, the nurse should be able to:
  • Define terms related to medication safety.
  • Discuss the impact of the Institute of Medicine’s (IOM) (now the National Academy of Medicine) research on patient safety.
  • Describe the role of governing bodies and professional organizations in medication safety.
  • Discuss the various types of medication errors.
  • Identify risk factors for medication errors and adverse drug events. 
  • Describe healthcare professionals’ interventions that promote medication safety.

About the Author
Adrianne E. Avillion, D.Ed., RN
Dr. Avillion is an accomplished nursing professional development specialist and published healthcare education author. She is the owner of Strategic Nursing Professional Development, a business devoted to helping nurses maintain competency and enhance their professional growth and development. Dr. Avillion earned her doctoral degree in adult education and her M.S. from Penn State University, along with a BSN from Bloomsburg University. She has served in various nursing roles over her career in both leadership positions and as a bedside clinical nurse. She has published extensively and is a frequent presenter at conferences and conventions devoted to the specialty of continuing education and nursing professional development. 

Find No Room for Error: Promoting Medication Safety - N20090 in your state

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington DC
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming