Nursing: Geriatric Assessment, 2nd Edition

Select a State to view hours and price

About Course #N1789

Release Date: February 20, 2018

Expiration Date: February 28, 2021

This course is intended for nurses and other health care professionals who work with older adults in a variety of settings, including the community, acute care, psychiatric care, long term care and at various points in transitions of care. The purpose of this course is to provide nurses with a solid foundation of assessments for older adults across the healthcare continuum and in the context of health, wellness, and chronic illness. Assessments covered are inclusive of the following domains for the older adult: emotional, physical, cognitive, social, spiritual, economic, family dynamics, caregiving, and safety all impacting their quality of life. Areas of focus in this course also include geriatric syndromes, such as cognitive impairment, delirium, incontinence, malnutrition, falls, gait disorders, pressure ulcers, sleep disorders, sensory deficits, fatigue, and dizziness. These conditions are common in older adults, and they may have a major impact on quality of life and disability.

Through learning varied targeted assessments, nurses will be able to identify areas of vulnerability or early intervention and plans of care can be initiated to improve outcomes in a more comprehensive manner. Through this course, nurses and providers will enhance and sustain their capacity and competency for older adults.

Texas Nurses - This course fulfills 2-hour Older Adult/Geriatric Care requirement.

About the Author(s)

Karen Reynolds, DNP, CNS-BC, FGNLA, is a clinical nurse specialist at Sarasota Memorial Health Care System. She holds a Doctorate of Nursing Practice from the University of Florida in adult-gerontology acute care. She received a bachelor's Degree in Nursing from Kent State University and a master's Degree in Nursing from Andrews University. Her career spans from the U.S. Air Force as a commissioned officer and nurse to a 25-plusyear nursing career at Sarasota Memorial. In 2012, Dr. Reynolds was selected as one of 11 fellows nationwide to participate in the Sigma Theta Tau Geriatric Nursing Leadership Academy. She is the Nurses Improving Care for Healthsystem Elders coordinator at Sarasota Memorial Health Care System. She has presented varied topics related to older adults internationally, nationally, and locally. Dr. Reynolds serves older adults in her community as an appointed member of the Sarasota County Commissioners Seniors Advisory Council. She is on the Friendship Centers' Board of Governors, which serves a multicounty area by providing older adult services and health care. She is an associate professor at the University of South Florida (courtesy appointment) and adjunct professor of geriatrics at State College of Florida.

Course Disclosures

  • Courses must be completed on or before the expiration date noted in the course description above.
  • You must score 75% or higher on the final exam and complete the course evaluation to pass this course and receive a certificate of completion.
  • Through our review processes, Western Schools ensures that this course content is presented in a balanced, unbiased manner and is free from commercial influence. It is Western Schools' policy not to accept commercial support.
  • All persons involved in the planning and development of this course have disclosed no relevant financial relationships or other conflicts of interest related to the course content.

Find Geriatric Assessment, 2nd Edition - N1789 in your state

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington DC
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming