Nursing: Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder Throughout the Lifespan, 3rd Edition

Select a State to view hours and price

About Course #N1814

Release Date: March 5, 2018

Expiration Date: March 29, 2021

The purpose of this course is to provide nurses with a sturdy underpinning of relevant content related to ADHD. Nurses practicing in any healthcare, academic, or organizational context will acquire contemporary knowledge about ADHD and information that may be new to them or furthers formerly learned concepts pertaining to ADHD research, diagnosis, and treatment across the lifespan. Areas that will be detailed in this course include: understanding the roots of ADHD; identification of the etiology of ADHD; management and treatment of ADHD across the lifespan; children and ADHD; adolescents with ADHD; college students with ADHD; adults with ADHD; co-morbidities and common differential diagnoses of ADHD; professional career decisions and ADHD; the role of family and ADHD; gender issues and ADHD; and future directions for ADHD.

The nurse will explore this relevant content about ADHD through the lens of diversity-related concerns as it pertains to potential bias, discrimination, racism, classism, and sexism. Appreciating how systems function and their downstream impact on an individual's care will also be addressed. After completing this course nurses will become more competent and confident in their ability to recognize, manage, and effectively intervene when caring for persons affected by ADHD in varied settings.

About the Author(s)

Roberta Waite, EdD, PMHCNS, FAAN, ANEF, is a tenured Professor, Doctoral Nursing Department and has a secondary appointment as a Professor in the Health Systems and Science Research Department at Drexel University, College of Nursing and Health Professions and Assistant Dean of Academic Integration and Evaluation of Community Programs at the Stephen and Sandra Sheller Eleventh Street Family Health Services of Drexel University. She is a graduate of Widener University (BSN) and the University of Pennsylvania (MSN). She also earned a doctorate in higher education administration-leadership from Widener University and completed a 2-year postdoctoral research fellowship (T32) at the Center for Health Disparities Research at the University of Pennsylvania.

Meghan S. Leahy, MS, NCC, BCC, is a certified counselor, a board certified life, career, and leadership coach, and an accomplished educational innovator. As the founder and principal of Leahy Learning in Wynnewood, PA, her clinical work and research spans education, counseling, learning disabilities, coaching, mentoring, ADHD, and Autistic Spectrum Disorders. Ms. Leahy specializes in problem-solving and success strategies, focusing on the impact of learning processes on people throughout the life span: from childhood through professional career development. She is a graduate of St. Joseph's University (BA) and Villanova University (MS).

Course Disclosures

  • Courses must be completed on or before the expiration date noted in the course description above.
  • You must score 75% or higher on the final exam and complete the course evaluation to pass this course and receive a certificate of completion.
  • Through our review processes, Western Schools ensures that this course content is presented in a balanced, unbiased manner and is free from commercial influence. It is Western Schools' policy not to accept commercial support.
  • All persons involved in the planning and development of this course have disclosed no relevant financial relationships or other conflicts of interest related to the course content.

Find Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder Throughout the Lifespan, 3rd Edition - N1814 in your state

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington DC
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming