Nursing: Assault: It's Not in My Job Description

Select a State to view hours and price
About the Course

Healthcare workers dedicate their lives to the care and the treatment of their patients. In doing so, they sometimes must put their own safety and health at risk. In 2013, it was estimated that there were 9,200 nonfatal violence-related injuries among healthcare workers. Over the past decade, healthcare workers have accounted for up to 2/3 of violent workplace injuries—a total of more than 67% of all industries and professions—that resulted in time off from work. This education program provides information on how to identify potentially violent patients, describes techniques to manage patients with violent behavior, and discusses interventions to encourage a safe work environment.


The target audience for this education program is nurses who want to enhance their ability to manage patients with violent behaviors and promote the development of a safe work environment.

Learning Objectives
  • Discuss demographics related to workplace violence.
  • Identify potentially violent patients through proper screening and assessment.
  • Describe techniques utilized to manage a patient with violent behavior.
  • Develop interventions to encourage a safe work environment for clinicians.

About the Author

Jennifer Oakley, FNP, MSN, RN, works in the emergency department at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia and is an adjunct professor at Drexel University.

Find Assault: It's Not in My Job Description - N18977 in your state

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington DC
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming