4 Mandatory Hours
12 Elective Hours
16 Total Hours
Shop Courses

Here's what you need to renew your North Dakota Dental license

The information below is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Board of Dental Examiners. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board's site.
If you hold Dental licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state's requirements.

North Dakota Dental: Assistants (Continuing Education)

Total Hours Required: 16
Mandatory Hours: 4
Elective Hours: 12
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
License Expiration Date: 12/31/2024
Next Education Due Date: 12/31/2024

Online Info

a. Two hours of ethics or jurisprudence. Passing the laws and rules examination is the equivalent of two hours of ethics or jurisprudence. b. Two hours of infection control. 
c. A cardiopulmonary resuscitation course. 
d. For registered dental anesthesia assistant permitholders, two hours related to sedation or anesthesia. 
e. For registered dental restorative assistant permitholders, two hours related to restorative dentistry

Roster

No roster required

Governing Agency

Name: Board of Dental Examiners
Phone: 7012588600
Fax: 7012249824
Address: PO Box 7246 Bismarck, 58507

North Dakota Dental: Dentist (Continuing Education)

Total Hours Required: 32
Mandatory Hours: 4
Elective Hours: 28
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
License Expiration Date: 12/31/2025
Next Education Due Date: 12/31/2025

Online Info

NEW! DEA MATE ACT:
Beginning with DEA initial registrations or renewals starting June 27, 2023, all DEA-registered practitioners (with the exception of DVM-only license holders) are required to complete 8 hours of one-time training on the treatment and management of patients with opioid or other substance use disorders.

Mandatory Subjects:
2 hours - Infection Control (HIV/AIDS prevention, OSHA, and Hazardous Materials are among the acceptable Infection Control courses)
2 hours - Ethics or jurisprudence (passing the laws and rules examination fulfills this requirement)
All licensees must take a CPR course.

Anesthesia permit holders must have 4 hours related to sedation or anesthesia every 2 years.


Only subject matter directly related to clinical dentistry will be accepted. 

 

Roster

No roster required

Governing Agency

Name: Board of Dental Examiners
Phone: 7012588600
Fax: 7012249824
Address: PO Box 7246 Bismarck, 58507

North Dakota Dental: Hygienist (Continuing Education)

Total Hours Required: 16
Mandatory Hours: 4
Elective Hours: 12
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
License Expiration Date: 12/31/2025
Next Education Due Date: 12/31/2025

Online Info

Mandatory subjects:
2 hours - Infection Control each licensure; 
2 hours - Ethics or Jurisprudence  
2 hours - Sedation, if you hold permit
2 hours - Restorative, if you hold permit

Roster

No roster required

Governing Agency

Name: Board of Dental Examiners
Phone: 7012588600
Fax: 7012249824
Address: PO Box 7246 Bismarck, 58507

Good to know

Other facts and insights about completing your CE

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.