6 Mandatory Hours
14 Elective Hours
20 Total Hours
Shop Courses

Here's what you need to renew your New Jersey Dental license

The information below is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the New Jersey State Board of Dentistry. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board's site.
If you hold Dental licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state's requirements.

New Jersey Dental: Assistants (Continuing Education)

Total Hours Required: 10
Mandatory Hours: 6
Elective Hours: 4
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
License Expiration Date: 12/31/2024
Next Education Due Date: 12/31/2024

Online Info

Mandatory Subjects:
3 hours - AHA CPR (with practical hands-on certification)
1 hour - Infection Control
1 hour - Ethics and New Jersey law
1 hour - Prescription opioid drugs, including the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction, and diversion

Online Limitations

No more than one-half of the required continuing education hours in the two-year period may be obtained through written or electronic media distance learning courses. Webinars shall not be considered electronic media distance learning courses if they are live (not previously recorded) and synchronous (the instructor and registrant interact with each other in real time).

Please refer to the NEW JERSEY ADMINISTRATIVE CODE: TITLE 13 - LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY, CHAPTER 30 - NEW JERSEY BOARD OF DENTISTRY for additional information.

Roster

No roster required

Governing Agency

Name: New Jersey State Board of Dentistry
Phone: 9735046405
Fax:
Address: PO Box 45005 Newark, 07101

New Jersey Dental: Dentist (Continuing Education)

Total Hours Required: 40
Mandatory Hours: 10
Elective Hours: 30
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
License Expiration Date: 10/31/2025
Next Education Due Date: 10/31/2025

Online Info

NEW! DEA MATE ACT:
Beginning with DEA initial registrations or renewals starting June 27, 2023, all DEA-registered practitioners (with the exception of DVM-only license holders) are required to complete 8 hours of one-time training on the treatment and management of patients with opioid or other substance use disorders.

Mandatory Subjects: 
3 hours - AHA CPR course 
3 hours - Pharmacology and Internal Medicine (must include use of the NJPMP)
2 hours - Infection Control
1 hour - Ethics and New Jersey law concerning the practice of dentistry
1 hour - Prescribing Controlled Substances

Online Limitations

A maximum of 20 hours of continuing education credit shall be given for any form of written or electronic media distance learning courses. A written or electronic media distance learning course shall include a written post-test, and such test shall be retained by the licensee as an additional record of completion of the course. Webinars shall not be considered electronic media distance learning courses if they are live (not previously recorded) and synchronous (the instructor and licensee interact with each other in real time).

Please refer to the NEW JERSEY ADMINISTRATIVE CODE: TITLE 13 - LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY, CHAPTER 30 - NEW JERSEY BOARD OF DENTISTRY for additional information.

Roster

No roster required

Governing Agency

Name: New Jersey State Board of Dentistry
Phone: 9735046405
Fax:
Address: PO Box 45005 Newark, 07101

New Jersey Dental: Hygienist (Continuing Education)

Total Hours Required: 20
Mandatory Hours: 6
Elective Hours: 14
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
License Expiration Date: 12/31/2025
Next Education Due Date: 12/31/2025

Online Info

Mandatory Subjects:
3 hours - AHA CPR (with practical hands-on certification)
1 hour - Infection Control
1 hour - Ethics and New Jersey law
1 hour - Prescription opioid drugs, including the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction, and diversion

Online Limitations

No more than one-half of the required continuing education hours in the two-year period may be obtained through written or electronic media distance learning courses. Webinars shall not be considered electronic media distance learning courses if they are live (not previously recorded) and synchronous (the instructor and registrant interact with each other in real time).

Please refer to the NEW JERSEY ADMINISTRATIVE CODE: TITLE 13 - LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY, CHAPTER 30 - NEW JERSEY BOARD OF DENTISTRY for additional information.

Roster

No roster required

Governing Agency

Name: New Jersey State Board of Dentistry
Phone: 9735046405
Fax:
Address: PO Box 45005 Newark, 07101

Good to know

Other facts and insights about completing your CE

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.