Respiratory Therapy Accreditations & CE State Requirements
  • Western Schools’ respiratory care continuing education (CE) program, previously doing business as RC Educational Consulting Services (RCECS), is American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) approved provider #9346916. All courses are preapproved by the AARC.  

     


     

     

    AARC Members – Please be sure to provide us with your AARC member number as a license number and AARC as the license type so that we can submit your course completion records directly to the AARC within 60 days of completion.

     


     

    All courses meet National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC) Continuing Competency Program requirements. NBRC accepts courses approved by the AARC.

     


     

    The Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists, (BRPT) accepts sleep related courses that have been approved by the AARC.

     


     

    Florida Board of Respiratory Care approved provider #50-2165.

     


     

     

     

  • Continuing Education Requirements for Respiratory Therapists

    It is the responsibility of each professional licensee to understand what his or her state licensing board requires for license renewal, as well as what that licensing board identifies as acceptable continuing education. Please contact your board for verification if you are unsure of your continuing education requirements.


    Find your state below to view the total amount of hours of CE credits allowed through home study to renew your license. Renewal is every 2 years unless otherwise stated.

    State

    Profession

    Hours Required

    Home Study Hours Allowed

    Notes

    ALABAMA

    RCP

    24 

    12 maximum

     

    ALASKA

    RCP

    N/A

    N/A

    No CE required

    ARIZONA

    RCP

    20

    no limits

     

    ARKANSAS

    RCP

    12 every year

    no limits

     

    CALIFORNIA

    RCP

    15

    no limits

    Includes 3 hours CA Law and Ethics (every other renewal) Must be taken from the CSRC or AARC

    COLORADO

    RCP

    N/A

    N/A

    No CE required

    CONNECTICUT

    RCP

    6 every year

    no limits

     

    DELAWARE

    RCP

    20

    10 maximum

     

    DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

    RCP

    16

    8 maximum

    Includes 3 hours Ethics

    FLORIDA

    RCP

    24 

    no limits

    Includes 2 hours medical error prevention (every renewal); 2 hours Florida law & rules; 3 hours HIV/AIDS (first renewal only)

    GEORGIA

    RCP

    30

    no limits

     

    HAWAII

    RCP

    N/A

    N/A

    No CE required

    IDAHO

    RCP

    12 every year

    no limits

     

    ILLINOIS

    RCP

    24

    no limits

     

    INDIANA

    RCP

    15
    7.5 maximum

     

    IOWA

    RCP

    24

    10 maximum

     

    KANSAS

    RCP

    12 every year

    6 maximum

     

    KENTUCKY

    RCP

    24

    no limits

     

    LOUISIANA

    RCP

    10 every year

    no limits

     

    MAINE

    RCP

    N/A

    N/A

    No CE required

    MARYLAND

    RCP

    16

    no limits

     

    MASSACHUSETTS

    RCP

    15

    6 maximum

     

    MICHIGAN

    RCP

    N/A

    N/A

    No CE required

    MINNESOTA

    RCP

    24

    no limits

     

    MISSISSIPPI

    RCP

    20

    no limits

     

    MISSOURI

    RCP

    24

    12 maximum

     

    MONTANA

    RCP

    24

    no limits

     

    NBRC

    Continuing Competency Program

    30 every 5 years

    no limits

     

    NEBRASKA

    RCP

    20

    no limits

     

    NEVADA

    RCP

    20

    no limits

    Includes 2 hours Ethics

    NEW HAMPSHIRE

    RCP

    24

    no limits

    NEW JERSEY

    RCP

    30

    15 maximum

    Includes 1 hour Infection Control; 1 hour Medical Error / Patient Safety; 1 hour Ethics

    NEW MEXICO

    RCP

    20

    no limits

     

    NEW YORK

    RTT

    24 every 3 years

    12 maximum

     

    NEW YORK

    RT

    30 every 3 years

    15 maximum

     

    NORTH CAROLINA

    RCP

    12 every year

    no limits

     

    NORTH DAKOTA

    RCP

    10 every year

    no limits

     

    OHIO

    RCP

    20

    no limits

    Includes 1 hour Ethics or 1 hour Ohio respiratory care law

    OKLAHOMA

    RCP

    12

    no limits

     

    OREGON

    RCP

    15

    no limits

    PENNSYLVANIA

    RCP

    30

    20 maximum

    Includes 1 hour medical errors; 1 hour patient safety; 2 hours child abuse recognition and reporting

    RHODE ISLAND

    RCP

    12

    no limits

     

    SOUTH CAROLINA

    RCP

    30

    no limits

    SOUTH DAKOTA

    RCP

    20

    no limits

    TENNESSEE

    RCP

    12 every year

    7 maximum

    Includes 1 hour patient safety; 1 hour professional ethics

    TEXAS

    RCP

    24

    12 maximum

     

    UTAH

    RCP

    N/A

    N/A

    No CE Required

    VERMONT

    RCP

    12

    6 maximum

    VIRGINIA

    RCP

    20

    no limits

    WASHINGTON

    RCP

    30

    no limits

     

    WEST VIRGINIA

    RCP

    20

    no limits

     

    WISCONSIN

    RCP

    N/A

    N/A

    No CE required

    WYOMING

    RCP

    8 every year

    no limits

     

     

     

...

  Last Updated: 3/21/16

24

24

no limits

no limits

no limits